Manchester United fan calls off her wedding after ‘falling in love’ with star Adnan Januzaj

Manchester United fan calls off her wedding after ‘falling in love’ with star Adnan Januzaj

Mai Alexander, 24, developed a crush on the winger after watching his United debut in August 2013 and quickly became infatuated with himA Manchester United fan who became obsessed with winger Adnan Januzaj called off her own wedding after ‘falling in love’ with the player.Mai Alexander, 24, developed a crush on the Belgian hotshot after watching him make his United debut at the age of 18 in August 2013.

She quickly became infatuated with the starlet and began mapping out a future life with him.

Despite the fact she’d never met him, Mai planned their wedding, chose a house, and even picked out names for their children.

The make-up artist spent hours trawling through his social media pages, stalking his every move and posting him more than 200 handwritten letters.
She also splashed £2,000 on fake tan, false nails and glam outfits to look like his stunning girlfriend Melissa McKenzie and £2,500 more on Man United merchandise.
Mai was so convinced she was in a relationship with the Premier League footballer that she stopped hugging and kissing her long-term boyfriend because it felt like cheating.

Read More:There is no fuel and you shaking hands!Lawal to Kachikwu at FEC Meeting

When her friends suggested she might never be with him she became suicidal.
In July 2015, two years after first seeing Adnan on TV, infatuated Mai saw a photo of him with his beau and it finally sent her over the edge.

She wrote a suicide note for the footballer telling him she loved him and slashed her wrists in a desperate bid to kill herself.

Fortunately her boyfriend, 23-year-old warehouse operator Stefan Hall, found her and dialled 999.

After receiving treatment at hospital, Mai was sectioned under the Mental Health Act and spent nine weeks in a secure unit where she received treatment for OCD.
Now, almost three years after watching Adnan’s debut, Mai has come out the other side to bravely speak about her former obsession.

Incredibly, devoted Stefan has stayed with her through it all – even when she cancelled their engagement – and the couple’s wedding is now fixed for 2018.

Mai, of Wakefield, West Yorkshire, said: “I remember the first match I laid eyes on him – I really fancied him. I was with my dad and I said, ‘he’s cute’.

“He told me he was new and I had to find out more so I followed him on Instragram and Twitter and scrolled right to the beginning of his accounts.
mai.jpg

“I would get really jealous if they said he was hot – it was heart-crushing. I felt like he was my boyfriend and I hated that other girls found him attractive.
“I started googling him to see where he was and what he was doing, and after about a week I was obsessed.

“I changed the wallpaper on my phone to a photo of him and put posters of him all over my bedroom walls.

“I had been with my boyfriend for about a month then and he would joke, ‘That should be my picture up there not him’. But I just felt like I had fallen in love with him.”

mai1.jpg
Mai and her lover before she called her engagement off

Mai and Stefan stayed together and moved to Manchester in February 2015, where her obsession spiralled further out of control because she was in her team’s home city.

She said: “Getting in the bath, cooking dinner, cleaning the house – it all made me so depressed thinking about how life would be different if I was with him.

“Every time he was on the pitch I would watch it and when the match ended I would get really upset. It was like going through a really bad break up every day.

Read More:Lots of Ghosts Are Getting Busted in the New Ghostbusters Trailer (video)

“I was desperate to meet him. I wanted to do my make up and my hair and give him my number and have some pictures. I just wanted to touch his shirt or his skin.

“I wanted to live with him. I imagined myself being his wife and living at his house. It was all about him – it wasn’t the fame or the money or anything like that.

“I imagined being his wife and even chose names for our children – Miriam for a girl or Junior for a boy.

mai11.jpg
“Obviously there was no chance of Adnan really wanting to be with me, but I clung onto the hope.”

Read More:Real Reason Why Tomato Is Expensive And Scarce in Nigeria

“Eventually I realised that Stefan was my future and the only person I wanted to be with.

“Things are a lot better now. I still follow Adnan on Twitter and Instagram but I don’t search him to an abnormal extent or have the urge to go to matches.

“When I see him on the screen I still feel like he is an ex and I still think he’s cute, but it’s not obsessive. ”

Stefan, a warehouse operator, said: “I loved Mai as soon as I met her. She was so cute and funny.

“She hid her obsession from me at first, but I noticed something was wrong when Adnan’s name started creeping into conversations all the time.

“I felt like she didn’t love me any more, but I knew she was very, very ill. I stayed with her because I knew we could get her help.

“She’s come so far and done so well. We’re stronger than ever now.”

Mirror News

Leave a Reply

